Support

Akeeba Backup for WordPress

#27874 – how to update Pro version

Posted in ‘Akeeba Backup for WordPress’
This is a public ticket. Everybody will be able to see its contents. Do not include usernames, passwords or any other sensitive information.
Sunday, 28 May 2017 21:17 CDT
ondetto
Hi there,

I have installed Akeeba Backup for WP Professional on a number of Wordpress websites. I have entered the download ID. There is a warning that says a new version (2.2.0) is available. But when I click on this, it leads me to a download of Akeeba CORE version not PRO, so I am not sure how to update Pro. I have previously gone ahead with the update and it downgraded my installation to Core. Screenshot is attached.

Thanks!

Custom Fields

WordPress version (in x.y.z format) 4.7.5
PHP version (in x.y.z format) 5.6
Akeeba Backup version (x.y.z format) 2.1.0
Sunday, 28 May 2017 22:39 CDT
ondetto
I've realised what what happening - at the top of the page there is a large update message which leads to the CORE update, and at the bottom is a smaller message which leads to PRO. This is quite confusing. I am a bit concerned some of my clients might click the big message at the top and inadvertently downgrade - I have automatic backups running on the PRO version which would then stop working. Can the message at the top be removed for Pro? Thanks.
Monday, 29 May 2017 01:29 CDT
nicholas
The update message appears when the version you have installed is out of date. The message leads to the integrated updater which will download and install the update for the correct edition (Pro or Core) you have already installed. This message appears in a yellow background.

If you have the Pro version and you haven't already entered the Download ID there's another message with a link to our site where you can find the Download ID. It asks you to copy that into the big box in the message appearing on your site and click the button next to it to apply it. This message appears with a green background.

There is the possibility that you have had the CORE version and upgraded it to PRO but both editions were on an outdated release. In this case and for approximately 10 hours the cached update information on your site does, indeed, lead to the CORE version. This can be fixed very easily by clicking the Refresh update information button in the updater page. Or you can wait for half a day and then the updater will see the correct update (the cache expires). The cache is also cleared automatically when you enter your Download ID in that message with the green background.

There is nothing you or us have to do about any of that. When you have entered the Download ID as instructed all your clients have to do is click on the big update button to update to the newest Professional version. This message will not be removed because we simply don't support old versions of our software. If we remove that message our clients will be running old versions and we won't be able to help them (since there's no point wasting time, for example, on rediscovering a bug we fixed six months ago and which isn't of course present in the newest version of our software).


Nicholas K. Dionysopoulos

Lead Developer and Director



🇬🇷Greek: native

🇬🇧English: excellent

🇫🇷French: basic



Please keep in mind my timezone and cultural differences when reading my replies. Thank you!



Tuesday, 30 May 2017 00:47 CDT
ondetto
Thanks for the explanation Nicholas. I did have Core installed first, then deleted that and installed Pro. I did enter the download ID but the update link to the zip file did not automatically update even though the installation has been there for a few weeks - hitting the refresh button did the trick though!

Thanks!
Friday, 30 June 2017 17:17 CDT
system
This ticket has been automatically closed. All tickets which have been inactive for a long time are automatically closed. If you believe that this ticket was closed in error, please contact us.
This ticket is closed, therefore read-only. You can no longer reply to it. If you need to provide more information, please open a new ticket and mention this ticket's number.

Support Information

Working hours: Typically we work Monday to Friday, 9am to 7pm Cyprus timezone (EEST). Support is provided by the same developers writing the software, all of which live in Europe. You can still file tickets, but we cannot respond to them, outside of our working hours.

Support policy: We would like to kindly inform you that when using our support you have already agreed to the Support Policy which is part of our Terms of Service. Thank you for your understanding and for helping us help you!