#34314 – Site transfer

Posted in ‘Akeeba Solo (standalone)’
This is a public ticket. Everybody will be able to see its contents. Do not include usernames, passwords or any other sensitive information.
Saturday, 09 January 2021 04:23 CST
Aido21

Hi,

I am a bit confused with Site Transfer Wizard.

I have some sites at my hosting provider server and I have set up different back up profiles for each of them.

Every backup profile describes the back up of only one site and corresponding databases etc. And every back up is a full back up for the corresponding site.

But when i try to use Site Transfer Wizard it choses the last full back up and i cannot set what site i want to transfer.

 

Custom Fields

PHP version (in x.y.z format) 7.3.24
Akeeba Solo version (x.y.x) 7.5.1
 
Monday, 11 January 2021 02:30 CST
tampe125

Hello,

can you please attach a screenshot of the issue?
Please remember that Site Transfer will only work with backup profiles type "Full site" and the backup archive must be on your server, not uploaded to an external cloud storage or another FTP server.



Davide Tampellini

Developer and Support Staff



Italian: native

English: good



Please keep in mind my timezone and cultural differences when reading my replies. Thank you!



Monday, 11 January 2021 03:43 CST
Aido21

Hi David,

sorry maybe I was not clear enough. It is not a error so I confused what screenshot do you need.

Yes all my backups are available on the server and they are full site backup archive.

I just don't understand the logic or maybe i do something wrong or it is a bug.

I have more than one profiles in my Solo Akeeba. Each generates its own full site backup but the sites are different.

But when I try to use the transfer wizard it always takes the last full site backup and it could be the full site backup created by another profile not the profile i selected in profile switch.  So the transfer wizard uses the backup archives that does not corresponds the selected profile.

It looks like the wizard does not take into account the selected profile, but takes the last full site archive.

 
Monday, 11 January 2021 05:08 CST
tampe125

Ah, ok, now I got it.

It's not possible to select which backup you want to transfer: Site Transfer Wizard is meant to be used by taking a backup and immediately start the transfer. Usually it's used by webagencies to move a site to another host or for developers to deploy their local site live.

In your case you have to manually perform the transfer, by uploading the archive and Kickstart to the new server and then run the restoration program.



Davide Tampellini

Developer and Support Staff



Italian: native

English: good



Please keep in mind my timezone and cultural differences when reading my replies. Thank you!



Monday, 11 January 2021 05:37 CST
Aido21

Yes, i've done it already using the manual transfer but anyway I think it could be more useful if I have choice what profile to use for transfer.

Thank you for your support.

 
Wednesday, 10 February 2021 20:17 CST
system
This ticket has been automatically closed. All tickets which have been inactive for a long time are automatically closed. If you believe that this ticket was closed in error, please contact us.
This ticket is closed, therefore read-only. You can no longer reply to it. If you need to provide more information, please open a new ticket and mention this ticket's number.

Support Information

Working hours: Typically we work Monday to Friday, 9am to 7pm Cyprus timezone (EEST). Support is provided by the same developers writing the software, all of which live in Europe. You can still file tickets, but we cannot respond to them, outside of our working hours.

Support policy: We would like to kindly inform you that when using our support you have already agreed to the Support Policy which is part of our Terms of Service. Thank you for your understanding and for helping us help you!