Support

Akeeba Backup for Joomla!

#36537 Delete Backup Folder Content

Posted in ‘Akeeba Backup for Joomla!’
This is a public ticket

Everybody will be able to see its contents. Do not include usernames, passwords or any other sensitive information.

Environment Information

Joomla! version
n/a
PHP version
n/a
Akeeba Backup version
n/a

arnold.pietersen

Please look at the bottom of this page (under Support Policy Summary) for our support policy summary, containing important information regarding our working hours and our support policy. Thank you!


EXTREMELY IMPORTANT: Please attach a ZIP file containing your Akeeba Backup log file in order for us to help you with any backup or restoration issue. If the file is over 2Mb, please upload it on your server and post a link to it.


Description of my issue:

Hi, I have created a folder akeeba-backups above the public_html folder. Every night, I make a backup to Amazon.

The akeeba-backups folder sometimes gets filled up with files and sometimes I run out of webspace. What should I do, if I want the akeeba-backups folder to be cleaned up every night? There should be no files in it.

 

nicholas
Akeeba Staff
Manager

What kind of files are in there?

When you are taking a backup there's always the following files being stored in the output folder:

  • The current database dump file, by default up to 250Kb. This is small, we don't need to talk about it.
  • The log file. Set the backup profile's Log Level to Errors Only to keep it small. Otherwise it can grow to several Mb big.
  • The backup archive parts. On a multipart archive the first part is always present and uploaded last (since its header stating the total number of files backed up and total size of the backup needs to be updated at the very end of the backup process). Using a smaller part size and enabling both the “Process each part immediately” and “Delete archive after processing” options in the Post-processing engine configuration options means that you will only have up to two part files stored in your output directory, therefore you will need at most two times the part size for split archives.

Making those changes will reduce the total disk space you need to take a backup, allowing you to take a successful backup in an environment where the disk space is constrained.

Do note that if the upload to Amazon S3 fails but the backup has completed successfully the backup archives are NOT deleted automatically. You need to do that manually. This is by design. You can always retry uploading through the Manage Backup page in case the problem was a temporary network issue. Losing your backup over a temporary network issue is bound to create FAR MORE problems than using up disk space (you cannot restore your site to a backup that has been deleted!).

Nicholas K. Dionysopoulos

Lead Developer and Director

🇬🇷Greek: native 🇬🇧English: excellent 🇫🇷French: basic • 🕐 My time zone is Europe / Athens
Please keep in mind my timezone and cultural differences when reading my replies. Thank you!

System Task
system
This ticket has been automatically closed. All tickets which have been inactive for a long time are automatically closed. If you believe that this ticket was closed in error, please contact us.

Support Information

Working hours: Typically we work Monday to Friday, 9am to 7pm Cyprus timezone (EEST). Support is provided by the same developers writing the software, all of which live in Europe. You can still file tickets, but we cannot respond to them, outside of our working hours.

Support policy: We would like to kindly inform you that when using our support you have already agreed to the Support Policy which is part of our Terms of Service. Thank you for your understanding and for helping us help you!

Summer vacations: Our support will be closed for replies and new tickets from August 6th to August 21st, 2022 due to summer vacations.