Support

Akeeba Backup for Joomla!

#36627 8.1.0 Install seems successful, but extension not visible

Posted in ‘Akeeba Backup for Joomla!’
This is a public ticket

Everybody will be able to see its contents. Do not include usernames, passwords or any other sensitive information.

Environment Information

Joomla! version
n/a
PHP version
n/a
Akeeba Backup version
n/a

happythorntons

Please look at the bottom of this page (under Support Policy Summary) for our support policy summary, containing important information regarding our working hours and our support policy. Thank you!


EXTREMELY IMPORTANT: Please attach a ZIP file containing your Akeeba Backup log file in order for us to help you with any backup or restoration issue. If the file is over 2Mb, please upload it on your server and post a link to it.


Description of my issue:

I apologise if this issue already appears in support, but I was not able to find anything matching when searching.

I have a site that I recently updated the core Joomla and extensions.  However, the Akeeba Backup Pro version states that it has installed successfully, but when I check the Components menu it does not show.

When I go to Extensions -> Discover, it shows the Akeeba Backup is available there.  If I then select the extension and install from this screen, it again reloads with a successful installation, and now there is an option in the Components drop down, but when I select it I get a messages stating:

An error has occurred.

404 Component not found.

And a link to go back to the Administrator Control Panel.

Please can you advise on how I can determine what is causing this issue so that I can resolve it, or if I need to uninstall the extension and try reinstalling it?  I have so far avoided uninstalling in the hopes that the existing configuration would not be lost.

Many thanks for your time and assistance.

Kind regards, jj

nicholas
Akeeba Staff
Manager

Please read Installing or manually updating the extension and Troubleshooting the installation in this order.

Nicholas K. Dionysopoulos

Lead Developer and Director

🇬🇷Greek: native ðŸ‡¬ðŸ‡§English: excellent ðŸ‡«ðŸ‡·French: basic • ðŸ• My time zone is Europe / Athens
Please keep in mind my timezone and cultural differences when reading my replies. Thank you!

happythorntons

Thank you for the response.  I have followed the documentation, using the Upload and Install method, and trying to install the extension twice in rapid succession.  I am not getting any errors however in the installation process, only after installation the Akeeba Backup it does not seem to be accessible.  If I use the Extensions -> Manage -> Discover and install from there, then the extension appears in the Components dropdown (showing as COM_AKEEBA), but as mentioned previously I see only 404 Component not found. when clicking through to the component.

Is there anyway that I can get any kind of logging of the installation to know what is happening?  Are there any other suggestions regarding what I can do to examine the status of the Akeeba Backup extension?

Would it help if I provide a recording of the process that I am following to install the extension?

Many thanks.

nicholas
Akeeba Staff
Manager

If Joomla successfully installs an extension you do not see it in Discover. Moreover, if it had correctly installed the extension you would not have an untranslated string (COM_AKEEBA) in the menu; it would show “Akeeba Backup”. Likewise, you would not be getting a 404 Component not found.

It looks like something is really broken on your site. Can you install any other component that you do not have currently installed on your site? If not, I am suspecting that your Joomla #__assets and/or #__extensions tables are corrupt. We may be able to save your site but it's a really dicey situation when a core table which controls how Joomla behaves at a fundamental level is corrupt and you don't have a backup to begin with.

Please let me know if you can install and use any other component and we'll take it one step at a time.

Nicholas K. Dionysopoulos

Lead Developer and Director

🇬🇷Greek: native ðŸ‡¬ðŸ‡§English: excellent ðŸ‡«ðŸ‡·French: basic • ðŸ• My time zone is Europe / Athens
Please keep in mind my timezone and cultural differences when reading my replies. Thank you!

happythorntons

Thank you for the information.

I have downloaded a sample component and installed it as a test.  It installed fine and it made entries into both the #__assets and #__extensions tables.  I have then uninstalled it and that was also successful, with the relevant entries removed from the tables.

I hope that provides enough information to be able to progress the issue.

Wishing you a wonderful day.

nicholas
Akeeba Staff
Manager

When you install Akeeba Backup do you see these records being created? If not, do you see any messages on the installation page, even if they are not errors but warnings (confusingly, some Joomla installation errors appear as warnings and some warnings appear as errors)?

Nicholas K. Dionysopoulos

Lead Developer and Director

🇬🇷Greek: native ðŸ‡¬ðŸ‡§English: excellent ðŸ‡«ðŸ‡·French: basic • ðŸ• My time zone is Europe / Athens
Please keep in mind my timezone and cultural differences when reading my replies. Thank you!

happythorntons

The #__assets table has an entry for com_akeeba as the highest id.  The #__extensions table has 1 entry for com_akeeba and 1 for pkg_akeeba.  The com_akeeba row entry in the #__extensions table has the highest id value.  I see that there is a value of -1 for the state column for com_akeeba row entry.  Should this value be 0?

nicholas
Akeeba Staff
Manager

Go to Manage, Extensions and remove everything Akeeba Backup — the package and the component.

Delete the folders:

administrator/components/com_akeeba
components/com_akeeba
media/com_akeeba

If the #__assets and #__extensions table still have a record for com_akeeba delete it manually.

Now try to install the package again.

Why this happened? Because the initial installation failed and then you used Discover, on an extension's half-installed files actually. As a matter of fact you must NEVER use Discover to install extensions on a live site. Discover is only meant for extension developers to use while developing extensions. Using Discover creates invalid records in the database (the status -1 ones) which confuse the extensions installer. Moreover, when you install a package it will sometimes fail to associate the sub-extensions included in the package with the package you are installing unless it detects a different version of the extension being installed. The broken association between sub-extensions and package will cause Joomla to display errors about incompatible extensions when you try to upgrade to a newer Joomla version family (new minor or major version).

Nicholas K. Dionysopoulos

Lead Developer and Director

🇬🇷Greek: native ðŸ‡¬ðŸ‡§English: excellent ðŸ‡«ðŸ‡·French: basic • ðŸ• My time zone is Europe / Athens
Please keep in mind my timezone and cultural differences when reading my replies. Thank you!

happythorntons

I have uninstalled Akeeba Backup.  On checking the DB, the entries in #__assets and #__extensions had been deleted.  The directories had been removed also.

I then installed the latest version and set up the configuration.  All seems to be working as expected.

Many thanks for your assistance.

Support Information

Working hours: Typically we work Monday to Friday, 9am to 7pm Cyprus timezone (EEST). Support is provided by the same developers writing the software, all of which live in Europe. You can still file tickets, but we cannot respond to them, outside of our working hours.

Support policy: We would like to kindly inform you that when using our support you have already agreed to the Support Policy which is part of our Terms of Service. Thank you for your understanding and for helping us help you!

Summer vacations: Our support will be closed for replies and new tickets from August 6th to August 21st, 2022 due to summer vacations.