Support

Akeeba Solo

#29280 Update problem: 2.3.3. -> 3.0.0

Posted in ‘Akeeba Solo (standalone)’
This is a public ticket

Everybody will be able to see its contents. Do not include usernames, passwords or any other sensitive information.

Environment Information

PHP version
n/a
Akeeba Solo version
n/a

tcgass
Hi,

I'm running solo pro since a very long time with no problems. As with installations that run perferctly, one often forgets to visit the backend and make updates :-)

Today I visited my solo backend again and it showed me " The new version 3.0.0 of Akeeba Solo is available for installation."

Pushing the "update now" button initiates the download process, but no extraction and installation process. Can I update directly from 2.3.3 to 3.0.0 or do I need some intermediate updates? If not, how can I solve this? Is there any step-by-step guide available on how to manually update from 2.3.3 to 3.0.0.?

Thanks for your help

Thomas

tampe125
Akeeba Staff
Hello,

until version 2.4.1 there was a bug in the update system, preventing you to automatically update Akeeba Solo.
In this case you have to perform a manual update, more info here: https://www.akeebabackup.com/documentation/akeeba-solo/updating.html

Davide Tampellini

Developer and Support Staff

🇮🇹Italian: native 🇬🇧English: good • 🕐 My time zone is Europe / Rome (UTC +1)
Please keep in mind my timezone and cultural differences when reading my replies. Thank you!

tcgass
Perfect! Thank you very much, this did the trick!
Have a great day,

Thomas

tampe125
Akeeba Staff
You're welcome!

Davide Tampellini

Developer and Support Staff

🇮🇹Italian: native 🇬🇧English: good • 🕐 My time zone is Europe / Rome (UTC +1)
Please keep in mind my timezone and cultural differences when reading my replies. Thank you!

tcgass
...one last question: it looks like I have to add manually again all database connections and root definitions for all backup profiles. Is that correct and do I have to do this after every update again? Just to be sure the update was installed correctly...
Thomas

tampe125
Akeeba Staff
How did you perform the upgrade?
Taken from our manual:
Attention Mac OS X users! By default, most Mac OS X FTP/SFTP applications will delete and overwrite entire directories. This means that if you are using the default backup output directory (the directory backups inside the folder you installed Akeeba Solo / Akeeba Backup) it will be overwritten and all of your existing backups will be lost forever. Moreover, the configuration encryption key will be deleted and you won't be able to access your backup configuration either. We recommend using FileZilla (free, not very secure), CyberDuck (free, much more secure) or Transmit (paid), as they will never perform directory deletion without your knowledge.
Most likely during the update process you overwritten the whole directory, without merging it. This means that the original content was deleted.
Answering your question, no you don't have to do this every time. The update process will do everything for you, removing any chance of errors.

Davide Tampellini

Developer and Support Staff

🇮🇹Italian: native 🇬🇧English: good • 🕐 My time zone is Europe / Rome (UTC +1)
Please keep in mind my timezone and cultural differences when reading my replies. Thank you!

tcgass
Hi Davide

thanks for your reply! I've used Transmit for the update process as always. The backup profiles are all available, the only entries missing are site root definition and database connections. But never mind, I don't have many profiles in my solo setup, so I can easily correct this by hand - I was just curious if that happens after every update. Glad to hear that's not the case!

Have a great day,
Thomas

tampe125
Akeeba Staff
You're welcome!

Davide Tampellini

Developer and Support Staff

🇮🇹Italian: native 🇬🇧English: good • 🕐 My time zone is Europe / Rome (UTC +1)
Please keep in mind my timezone and cultural differences when reading my replies. Thank you!

System Task
system
This ticket has been automatically closed. All tickets which have been inactive for a long time are automatically closed. If you believe that this ticket was closed in error, please contact us.

Support Information

Working hours: Typically we work Monday to Friday, 9am to 7pm Cyprus timezone (EEST). Support is provided by the same developers writing the software, all of which live in Europe. You can still file tickets, but we cannot respond to them, outside of our working hours.

Support policy: We would like to kindly inform you that when using our support you have already agreed to the Support Policy which is part of our Terms of Service. Thank you for your understanding and for helping us help you!

Summer vacations: Our support will be closed for replies and new tickets from August 6th to August 21st, 2022 due to summer vacations.