Support

Site Restoration

#13257 Stramge restore problem when cleanup invoked

Posted in ‘Site restoration’
This is a public ticket

Everybody will be able to see its contents. Do not include usernames, passwords or any other sensitive information.

Environment Information

PHP version
n/a
CMS Type
Other
CMS Version
n/a
Backup Tool Version
n/a
Kickstart version
n/a

geoffc
Mandatory information about my setup:

Have I read the related troubleshooter articles above before posting (which pages?)? Yes
Have I searched the tickets before posting? Yes
Have I read the documentation before posting (which pages?)? Yes
Joomla! version: (unknown) 2.5.6
PHP version: (unknown) 5.3.14 (restore system) 5.4.4 (source)
MySQL version: (unknown) 5.1.36 (restore DB) 5.0.96 (source)
Host: (optional, but it helps us help you)
Akeeba Backup version which took the backup: (unknown) 3.6.0
Kickstart version used to extract the backup: (unknown) 3.5.2

Description of my issue:
I have a backup taken with 3.6.0 and have tried to restore it.
The restore proceeds successfully and gets to the stage where you have the display providing access to the back end or front end. Just prior to this stage a new tag/window is opened which shows the front end of the site, indicating that the restore has gone OK. Also opening a new tab and going to the back end, you can log in and shows it is installed OK.

However clicking on either of the screen icons in the original tab after the cleanup immediately shows it wants to download the index.php file,in both the front end and the back end. The screen shot shows this.

It also stops the normal access in the already open (and formally working windows) from working since they also want to now download the index.html file.

No errors shown or indicated.

I am investigating further and will update with any additional information I find.

I have repeated this so it is consistent at least. Happens in both Chrome and Firefox so is not browser related. Installation directory is removed successfully.
 geoffc

geoffc
All pro versions being used.

After the installation directory is removed (successfully) the front end display screen is displayed and the site navigation is OK. Similarly opening a new window to the back end looks fine.

The problem seems to occur after the 'Cleanup Screen' is show and invoked, so I suspect that the cleanup is going astray somewhere. Closing the 'Cleanup' window without pressing the button leaves me with a working system so I have a work around, so it is not a high priority issue for me.

Hope that helps.

 geoffc

nicholas
Akeeba Staff
Manager
This is a server configuration issue. Please contact your host and ask them for assistance.

My educated guess: you transferred the site between hosts. There are some .htaccess directives which are not compatible with your new host, most likely one or more lines starting with AddHandler. This is already documented (look under ".htaccess directives"). Your host should be able to tell you if and which lines in your .htaccess are incompatible with their servers, as well as what you have to do to work around that.

Nicholas K. Dionysopoulos

Lead Developer and Director

🇬🇷Greek: native 🇬🇧English: excellent 🇫🇷French: basic • 🕐 My time zone is Europe / Athens
Please keep in mind my timezone and cultural differences when reading my replies. Thank you!

geoffc
Spot on (as usual). There was an AddHandler line in the .htaccess file.
I had to add the AddHandler on my live site to get the correct PHP (5.4.4) version.
Only small note is that until the restore is complete, one doesn't have the .htaccess file present in the file system to enable one to remove the offending line. Guess one has to jump in via a new session to edit the offending file immediately after running the cleanup and change it before trying to use any access to the (new) site web pages.


 geoffc

nicholas
Akeeba Staff
Manager
While the restoration is in progress the file is renamed to htaccess.bak. When you click on Clean Up it gets renamed back to .htaccess. I am doing that so that any .htaccess problems do not accidentally kill off Kickstart while it's extracting the site. This used to happen a lot back in the Kickstart 1.x days before this feature was added :)

Nicholas K. Dionysopoulos

Lead Developer and Director

🇬🇷Greek: native 🇬🇧English: excellent 🇫🇷French: basic • 🕐 My time zone is Europe / Athens
Please keep in mind my timezone and cultural differences when reading my replies. Thank you!

Support Information

Working hours: Typically we work Monday to Friday, 9am to 7pm Cyprus timezone (EEST). Support is provided by the same developers writing the software, all of which live in Europe. You can still file tickets, but we cannot respond to them, outside of our working hours.

Support policy: We would like to kindly inform you that when using our support you have already agreed to the Support Policy which is part of our Terms of Service. Thank you for your understanding and for helping us help you!

Summer vacations: Our support will be closed for replies and new tickets from August 6th to August 21st, 2022 due to summer vacations.